It is a flour made from the seeds of a plant called amaranth. There are many members of the amaranth family. Some are grown primarily for their seeds, which are treated as a grain, others are decorative, and some are considered weeds. All are edible. Amaranth flour is used in making pastas and baked goods. It must be mixed with other flours for baking yeast breads, as it contains no gluten. One part amaranth flour to 3-4 parts wheat or other grain flours may be used. In the preparation of flatbreads, pancakes and pastas, 100% amaranth flour can be used. The plant is used in Asian cookery extensively, and when it goes to seed, the tiny seeds (actually they look like seeds but botanically they are the fruits) are dried and used as a pseudo-grain flour. When strictly non-cereal items are required in India during specific fasting days, this one fits the bill nicely.